SCS Featured Stamper Challenge

Featured Stamper this week is Sandie, a.k.a. sistersandie!

I was browsing through Sandie’s wonderful gallery bookmarking cards to make the hard choice later, but then I ran into this card and knew instantly it would be the card.

* I used the same theme, colors and image (although from a different company).
* I tweeked the layout to make everything fit.
* Instead of a border punch, I used die cuts. And I did repeated stamping instead of using designer paper.
* I put a sentiment where she had gems.
* I added a heart & bow… because I had stamping boo-boo.

Image

Stamps: unknown companies
Paper & Ink: black, ballet blue, wild wasabi & pretty in pink
Tools: Spellbinders Nestabilities dies, Creative Memories heart punch, Creative Memories Callipen
Accessories: ribbon

Techniques: The heart is actually 4 or 5 layers to make it thicker like a button. Before stamping the numbers on the main image, I stamped the footprints on scratch paper before stamping on the cardstock to get a shade lighter.

About the card: The reason why I knew I would CASE Sandie’s baby footprints card is because I bought this stamp for one reason… to make a scrapbook page for the March of Dimes ~ Walk for Babies 8 mile walk I did a few years ago. One in eight babies are born prematurely every year in our country. Many more are born with birth defects or are stillborn. March of Dimes helps families, doctors and researchers, etc. I can’t help them as much as I used to because I lost my job. But every little bit counts because it adds up. And because of that, more babies can be saved.

My story: My firstborn child was born 16 weeks too early and weighed 1 pound and 4 ounces and was 12 inches long. He is 18 years old now. He has cerebral palsy and high functioning autism, but he has a personality that makes it difficult for classmates, teachers and health professionals to forget. Two years before he graduated, Brian had major surgeries on his legs, knees, ankles and feet. It was a long recovery. He uses his wheelchair to go from room to room in schools, but he can walk short distances within a small room. He prefers his wheelchair. So it was a surprise when at graduation ceremonies, he chose to walk across the stage to receive his diploma (certificate of completion – special ed). His classmates gave him a standing ovation, followed by the teachers and then the whole auditorium full of families. It was unexpected and truly amazing. If Brian had been born 5 years earlier, there would’ve been no way to save him. But a new substance was made to mimic what our lungs have so the walls don’t stick together therefore allowing us to inhale air again. Without that chemical substance, a respirator wouldn’t be able to work. I’m positive there have been many more discoveries in the past 18 years that I’m unaware of but are so very important to many babies and families.

When Brian was 5 yrs old, I went into preterm labor again. Unfortunately, he died during delivery. There was no time for a c-section and 18 weeks early was too soon. He weighed one pound and was 11.5 inches long.

When I participate in a March of Dimes Walk for Babies, I have a special shirt that I had made. On the back it says, “Walking in honor of Brian and in memory of Blake.”

Leave a Reply

